Envy by Anna Godbersen

3347892

The third in the Luxe series, Envy picks up after the second book’s devastating finale. Elizabeth finds herself once again imprisoned in her New York life, unable to share the truth of her past. Penelope is quite happily Mrs. Scoonmaker, made so by her devious plot to ensnare Henry with Diana’s honor. As with other Luxe novels, this one is packed with drama, romantic twists and turns, and will leave you guessing to the end. Though I don’t think this was the strongest piece in the series, the second book left me with enough questions that I had to read it. Will Diana and Henry ever get together? Will Penelope get what she deserves? Will Lina be found out? Arguably, these are the same questions as in the other books, but Godbersen keeps it interesting in this installment.

After the second Luxe book, Rumors, I HAD to read this one. Envy picks up exactly where Rumors left off, and I have to say that I was sad that some of the events at the end of the second book turned out to be true. Sad as I was, the new plot developments made for some extremely interesting twists. I’m really excited to see what happens to these characters in the final book. The end of Envy, though, was…weird. I hope things are explained in the next book. If you’re hooked on the series like me, or if you love society drama, give this book (and series!) a shot.

Rating: 4/5 

For full analysis (including flags and SPOILERS) click here. 

Leave a Reply

