Emerald Green by Kerstin Gier

14759651

The conclusion of the Ruby Red trilogy finds Gwen struggling, as ever, with discovering the secret of the Circle of Twelve and her love for her time-travelling companion, Gideon. In the final installment, Gwen must attempt to secretly discover the count’s plans, after finding out that Gideon had been manipulating her from the beginning. But as Gwen draws closer to the truth, nothing in her life turns out to be as it seems and it appears that closing the circle will only be the beginning of Gwen’s true journey.

So I was pretty disappointed in the second book of the trilogy, Sapphire Blue, but this one makes up for it. So. Many. Twists. I consider myself a pro when it comes to predicting plot twists in YA novels, but some of these really surprised me. Aside from that, I loved seeing more of Xermius, and imagining myself in Gwen’s dresses. As with the second book, I didn’t like how helpless Gwen was or how much she depended on Gideon. I miss the Gwen from the first book — the one who made her own decisions and took action! Other than that, this book was a solid finish to the series and I recommend them all!

Rating: 4/5 

For full analysis (including flags and SPOILERS) click here. 

Leave a Reply

