Divergent by Veronica Roth

 

In dystopian America, the population is divided into factions. At 16, teens must choose which faction they will spend the rest of their lives in. Beatrice, born a member of the selfless Abnegation faction, is faced with a difficult choice: she knows does not belong in Abnegation, but also can’t see herself anywhere else. What’s more, the test designed to help her choose proved inconclusive. Beatrice is what’s known as “divergent”, and must fight to keep her potentially deadly secret hidden.

I almost didn’t read this one. It was just SO popular and seemed so much like Hunger Games (and every other dystopian book coming out), that I kind of thought I’d pass. I wish I could tell you that I was so wrong and that this book was just awesome. I can’t. I really don’t see what all the hype is about. I’ll definitely give Veronica Roth credit for her creative “world” that she constructed in the novel. I can tell a lot of thought went into it. However, that’s the only real strong point of this book. The plot is exciting sometimes, but really drags in others. Some major plot points are dropped, picked up again, then dropped, which results in what are supposed to be mind-blowing plot twists becoming just “meh”. I don’t know. I was underwhelmed.

However, just because I didn’t love it doesn’t mean you won’t. It seems at times that Roth is making a comment on how the Christian culture is treated by society in modern times — one clearly “Christian” faction is hated by a faction obsessed with knowledge. The comparison is certainly worth thinking about and/or talking about. Also, if you just LOVE dystopian fiction, pick this one up. It might be your new favorite series!

Rating: 2.5/5

For full analysis (including flags and SPOILERS) click here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

